I don’t really know where to start with this one—in many ways he’s my absolute dream come true…

CHRIS> 36 years old. Divorced. Award winning photographer, cinematographer, and independent filmmaker. Very good-looking man. He’s been shooting a documentary about human trafficking in India and Thailand. He hopes that the film will eventually be viewed at Sundance Film Festival. He’s spent years living abroad and speaks multiple languages. He’s a self-proclaimed food and culture lover.

It’s hard to come up with any complaints about Chris aside from his non-traditional views on relationships (I’ll explain later…). He’s quieter. His dating style is slow and steady. He’s a bit of a homebody at heart. I feel like his “type” of woman is the kind that wears Gucci and sips fine wine. I’m still trying to figure out why he would be interested in someone like me—not that I don’t dress up and look pretty; especially on a date, but it doesn’t change the fact that I’m a woman who snowboards, climbs rocks, and drinks beer.

I want to write a little bit about the documentary because this project is pretty amazing. He literally rescues women from forced prostitution. He works with a human rights organization that raids brothels where the women are raped, starved, and beaten if they refuse to work.

He has permits to film in India under false pretenses. Millions of women are trafficked every day and the government doesn’t want the rest of the world to know that it’s such a rampant problem. At one point, he was hiding from the government and the mafia. He spent his time in hiding in an Ashram learning about Tantra and Vedic religion. Anyone who knows me also knows that I’m all about this stuff too, I know quite a bit about Hindu culture for an average girl from Utah.

After reading this you’re probably thinking, wow! this guy is next level! … he is!

He’s lived in Bangkok most of the time for the last couple of years, but he came home for the month of April. He invited me to the house that he owns, which isn’t very far from where I live. We were both excited to meet each other because we had been e-mailing back and forth for months.

He made me a fancy cheese and cracker spread with a cupcake on the side. He also made me a rosemary infused cocktail complete with sprig for garnish. He infuses his own liquors with spices like sage, rosemary, and habanero.  As a food and drink lover myself, I thought this little gesture was quite sexy.

He’s sensual. I love that. I’ll repeat: I love that. It’s a rare quality in a man. He’s a good kisser! We’ve made out a lot. It’s hot. So far I’ve needed a cold shower after every date. Whew! I can tell that he actually likes me. There’s not an intense love at first sight “soul-vibe”, but something real is there. Perhaps it’s a chemistry that can be genuine and sustainable even if it takes longer to develop.

Our conversations have been easy and natural. We’re able to get appropriately personal in a short period of time conversation-wise, which I think is a good thing. We talked about his divorce. I talked a little bit about my marriage. We talked about our mutual reservations about getting remarried and how we both had fears of committing to a long-term relationship.

Here’s the kicker. We talked about ployamory. He told me that he was really leaning toward getting into this type of relationship in the future. He wanted to know if I was interested. Basically he said that dating him would involve “sharing”.

I told him that this admission didn’t necessarily deter me from dating him. I have to admit I’ve looked into the concept myself and there are some very unique reasons as to why a situation like this would actually appeal to me. There are also a few very fundamental reasons why this type of relationship may not work for me at all.

I’m going to share my thoughts about polyamory in a separate post and leave it at that for now. I’ll continue to keep you updated about my sexy Thailand photographer.

Check out the preview for the documentary Stolen Innocence at http://www.stolendocumentary.com/

 

2 thoughts on “My Thailand Photographer

Leave a Reply

